What's new

Okay. No more putting it off! Time for me to introduce myself.

Thread starter #1
I've been working in the restaurant field most of my life. Do I like it? No, it's more like something I can do, settle for.

Okay then, it's time to begin changing into something new and more fulfilling.

I hang out, on this forum, mostly in self development, because that's where I'm at right now. I'm reading online articles on the subject and referencing books on the topics that I'm curious about. I want to learn more, improve, and pull myself out of this self created rut. I'm seeing improvement almost every day. This gives me encouragement to continue on this journey path, so I can improve even more.

A little about my past:
I was bored in high school, and my grades showed it. I kinda self taught myself some basic programming language by looking at the code of the (text based) game, and tried to understand what was going on. I'd change a thing or two and observe what that change did when the program was run. This was before basic programming was offered as a class. By the time the class was offered, it was boring mostly. Not much of a challenge to keep my interest. I was no wiz kid, but I knew enough to be considered dangerous. Heh. I went through basic 1 and 2 no problem. Next, pascal. I was like, what have I gotten myself into?!

Graduated high school by the seat of my pants. I should have gone straight into college at that point, but I didn't know what I wanted to do. I decided to start working. 15 years later, I decided to go to college and work full time. That was a huge change in my life and struggled to balance both. I decided that computer programming was the major I wanted. Then I discovered that being out of school for so long, I had forgotten much of what I had learned and had to take a lot of classes to get me up to college level. Ouch!