What's new

I want to drop out of college to go into Real Estate, but I don't know how to convince my Mom...

Thread starter #1
Hi all,

Newbie here.

I am a rising sophomore in college and I have decided that I want to drop out, get my real estate license, sell houses, and invest fulltime. I really regret going to college and I want to work instead as this is the better option for me, especially financially. However, my Mom believes that you absolutely HAVE to have a degree to be successful. I feel SO much better now that it is summer break and I had a really rough year in college last year. Knowing how depressed I was, I absolutely have NO desire to go back. I also have a lot of books on my nightstand that I want to read. I don't want to have to read something that a professor selected. (ex: Shakespeare)

My Mom is also a real estate agent and she wants to partner with me, so perhaps I can use this as leverage? I've shadowed her at open houses, met with other realtors, and I've even seen the crazy amount of paperwork that has to be filled out. I feel a lot more happier working and I want to help my family out. I'm having A LOT of fun experiencing the real estate profession as well! You get to meet a lot of people and it just feels plain right to me!

I think I could possibly go back in the future, graduate, and eventually go to law school (that was my original plan) but for now I want to work, generate some income, start paying back my loans (ugh) contribute to my family, and genuinely feel like I'm accomplishing something great. I am SO ready to improve in every aspect of my life and I really enjoy all that I've seen in this profession.

Do you guys have any idea on how I could leverage this? I'm going to need to let her know sooner or later. She brought it up once on her own, but I need to create a game plan for myself. I'm hoping that she'll be pretty open to it, but she's also super super focused on me getting good grades.